News & Publications

2018 Annual Dinner & Business Awards Ceremony

"Chico >> Along with dinner and a program about the Chico Chamber’s recent achievements, the 2018 chair was installed, and members and community citizens were lauded for their contributions and efforts during the 80th annual dinner and awards ceremony, held Thursday at Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.

Anastacia Snyder of Catalyst Domestic Violence Services was installed as 2018 chair of the chamber board, with Rick Anderson as outgoing chair.

The award winners included: Ted Hubert Memorial Scholarship recipient Jason Portillo of Chico High School; Business and Professional Advancement Scholarship recipient Abigail Baber of Paradise High School; Chairman’s Award recipient Melanie Bassett of the Downtown Chico Business Association; Ambassador of the Year recipient Don Cutler of Happy at Home; Young Professional of the Year recipient Kelly Gibbons of Farmers Insurance; and Community Service Award recipient Gage Chrysler of Modern Building.

Honoring three individuals with the Business Advocate of the Year for their work on the formation of the downtown Chico Property Based Improvement District were Tom DiGiovanni of New Urban Builders, David Halimi of Diamond W Western Wear and Tom van Overbeek of Parkside Tap House.

Taking home the top honors were Amy Louis and Elizabeth Goldblatt of Six Degrees Coffee with the Jeanne Posey Award, and Tom Dauterman of Thomas Welding with the J. Pat Lappin Award for Business Excellence.

The chamber gave its Legacy Award to the late George Walker, known for his dedication to the community and the Salvation Army. His daughter, Chris Lowen of Chico, accepted the award."


Click here to download the PDF copy of the above ChicoER article.